On November 3rd, 2018, Team 341 hosted Ramp Riot, our 19th annual off-season event. The day was a smashing success, with 36 FRC and 16 FTC teams from 3 different states coming to compete at Wissahickon High School. The competition was intense, and was a great experience for both recurring and new teams. Each team played hard, but worked harder, and the competition provided a great opportunity for new team members to learn about the environment at robotics competitions. Attendees had a great time as they watched matches, had their faces painted, and learned to operate our Sparky’s Robot World robots. As a team, we collected 300 cans for donation for our local food cupboard, the Mattie Dixon Community Cupboard. Ramp Riot’s success would not have been possible without the hard work of our students, parents, volunteers, sponsors, and partner organizations.

We’d like to congratulate all of the teams listed below, as well as thank the sponsors, organizations, and individuals to which we owe the utmost gratitude!

Day-of-Video Recap

Intro Video

Recorded Webcast

Photos From the Day

Official Awards & Results of Ramp Riot XIX:

  • Ramp Riot Champions: Team 1712, Dawgma; Team 834, SparTechs; Team 1403, Cougar Robotics; Team (2)607, The Fighting RoboVikings 2.0
  • Ramp Riot Finalists: Team 225, TechFire; Team 2590, Nemesis; Team 321, RoboLancers; Team 4750, Bert from Pennsauken, NJ
  • Mike Wade Memorial Award: Team 365, Miracle Workerz
  • Gracious Professionalism Award: Team 341, Miss Daisy
  • Team Spirit Award: Team 5401, The Fightin’ Robotics Owls
  • Judges Award: Team 5401, The Fightin’ Robotics Owls from Bensalem, PA
  • Number 1 Seed: Team 225, TechFire
  • 300 cans donated to the Mattie Dixon Community Cupboard

Event & Team Sponsors:

  • FIRST®
  • FIRST® Mid-Atlantic
  • Denney Electric Supply
  • Comcast NBCUniversal
  • The Boeing Company
  • BAE Systems
  • Lockheed Martin
  • ABB
  • Cobham Defense Electronics
  • Computer Components Corporation
  • Penn State Great Valley
  • DiD Agency
  • Wissahickon School District
  • Wissahickon Educational Opportunities Foundation

Our Incredible MCs & Game Announcers:

  • “Angry” Eric Eckhardt
  • Nikki Stout
  • Eric DelSanto

Key Volunteers:

  • Ron Rossbach
  • Rich Gerdes
  • Kara Bakowski
  • Jason Marcus
  • Howard Cohen
  • Jenna Mollica
  • Raj Pejaver
  • Vandana Nadkarni
  • Clem McKown
  • Tom Zawislak
  • Dave Hackett
  • Alan Ostrow

Event Partners:

  • Pennsylvania FIRST Tech Challenge
  • Jay Delp Productions
  • Soundscape Entertainment
  • Wissahickon School District
  • WHS Maintenance Department
  • WHS PE Department
  • WSD IT Department
  • WHS National Honor Society
  • Chris Hentschel & WMS FIRST LEGO League
  • John Conahan & Avery Hirsch
  • Mattie Dixon Community Cupboard
  • Giant
  • Tony Roni’s
  • Hatfield Meats
  • Philly Pretzel Factory
  • Lee’s Hoagie House
  • Wawa